a new experiment

I joined CrossFit Charlottesville in May 2010 and have loved it ever since. Almost religiously, I attended classes 3-5 times a week for the last year and a half. And while I’ve made some fantastic gains in strength and power (read about it here), I need to limit my CrossFit attendance. I’ve come to accept that I’m extremely sensitive to stress/cortisol and need to s-l-o-w down. The excessive stress from worrying about tomorrow’s WOD or the fact that I missed yesterday’s is counterproductive to my goals. During the past two weeks, I’ve allowed myself to go to the gym ONLY three times a week. For some people, that’s more than plenty. For me, that makes me feel antsy.

However, this needs to happen. Considering that I’m not a competitive Elite CrossFit Athlete (ie. Annie Thorisdottir), I don’t need to be hitting the gym more than three times a week. I just want to be healthy & strong and have fun doing so. The worst feeling in the gym is dreading being there.

My guidelines for the time being are as such..

  • only go to CrossFit 3x a week
  • move / play on non-CrossFit days (ride my bike / walk whenever possible)
  • allow my body to recover appropriately – I do CrossFit to be fit, not constantly sore
  • If the sun’s out then so am I

Thus far it’s been going great! I find it liberating to know when I’ll be at the gym and when I won’t be. I’m also finding that I’m really looking forward to each WOD and that’s really exciting. I even willingly did rowing sprints last week! ROWING! SPRINTS! Who am I??

This is going to be a bit of an experiment in relaxation for me and I’m up for the challenge. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

