Day 205 – 7.24.2011

Some relief from the heat today! A small rainstorm rushed through and left puddles everywhere. Sidenote: I’ve also been playing around with Aperture all day so please forgive the post-processing flaws, it’s the only way I’ll learn.

 

I’ve mentioned before that I try to get one item from the Farmer’s Market that I’ve never dealt with before – this week’s victim: okra. Now, I didn’t really know what okra was because I’ve only eaten once (and it was fried). But! It was fun looking up recipes and techniques on cooking it. Several articles warned me that it was slimey but it wasn’t terrible! Smelled kinda funny but it added to the adventure. I ended up using this recipe but subbed cayenne pepper and a spice rub for the chili powder. (I also ended up burning my hand in the process and may have yelled out several expletives which may or may not have been heard down my street.) The cayenne pepper gave them a really good kick! They were delicious! Definitely going to make these again (sans hand-burning hopefully).

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Day 205 – 7.24.2011

  1. Thanks for the shout-out to my okra recipe! Love your photography — really, really lovely. Sorry to hear you burned yourself. I always cook on Sundays and on Mondays, I count up my little burns and cuts. Cooking is dangerous! ;-)

    I posted a new grilled okra recipe you might want to try. I think it’s even better than the crispy one above. Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

