Day 202 – 7.21.2011

Just to prove to you guys that I’m not sitting around eating my face off, here’s a picture of my puddle of sweat from this morning’s WOD! Deadlifts followed by tabatas of wall-balls, ball slams, and pushups. All in this wonderful (read: horrendous) Virginia heat. Fun, no? Gotta love it.

I’ve been reading a lot about food recently (currently reading Good Calories, Bad Calories by Gary Taubes) and wanted to make a really great meal (it was more like a feast). It’s funny, I work in a restaurant and yet I spend my days off cooking. Started off with some beet chips that give off this wonderful saturated color and a sweet aroma. Meanwhile I had an entire chicken (bought from Sweet Peeps Farm who are fellow CrossFitters and were on the show Expedition Impossible) roasting in the oven. The ingredients for the chicken were simple yet potent – lime zest, garlic, parsley, salt & pepper, Disha’s BBQ Spice Rub, and olive oil. It’s slightly modified from this recipe off the CrossFit Journal (you might need to be a subscriber to see the page, sorry). It was super easy and made my kitchen smell delicious. Served on the side: veggie and scallion medley (not pictured).

After all was said and done, the chicken was DIVINE. (Bold font is necessary) Combining local pasture-raised chickenand great simple ingredients is a win-win situation – you really can’t go wrong. And now, I have enough leftovers for at least two days! Suh-weet!

 

Leave a Reply

