Day 189 – 7.8.2011

In this episode of “Weird Culinary Adventures with Jenni”…

I cooked squid. And I wasn’t intimidated or perplexed (and maybe I should have been). Having had squid many times before, I didn’t really feel the need to look up a recipe or cooking techniques. I marinated it with a bit of Gunther’s Gourmet Lemon Oregano Vinaigrette (from Roanoke, Va!) and threw the whole lot of it in the pan on high heat. The tentacles started curling and moving – it was pretty neat (vegetarians, sorry). Now, I have no idea (no, really) how calamari should be cooked – all I know is, it was pretty damn tasty. The texture would throw some people off but I think we all know, I’m pretty open to weird food.

As a side note, I was craving something really decadent and chocolatey while at Whole Foods and was walking around like a crazy person trying to find something grain-free, dairy-free, soy-free, sugar-free, etc and only came up with one or two things. Both of which looked pretty sorry. Finally, I said “F*ck it” and went for the most delicious-looking brownie they had in their bakery. I ate it slowly after my meal to really cherish the flavors and you know what? I’m glad I ate it. Life’s too short.

 

Leave a Reply

