One Year of CrossFit

A year ago today I stepped into CrossFit Charlottesville for my very first On-Ramp class. I had just graduated from UVA and the classes were a graduation gift from Chris (he’s sweet, huh?). I told him that I would commit to the month of On-Ramp classes and then I’d decide whether or not to continue. At that point in my life I had been running like mad-woman, having just completed my first half-marathon in April 2010. I was the skinniest I’d ever been and quite possibly the weakest I’d ever been. To say I was hesitant to start CrossFit would be an understatement. In the back of my mind, however, I knew I’d like it – I had been an athlete (soccer and basketball) for most of my youth and a competitive one at that.

I keep a regular journal of all my fitness-related activities: CrossFit WODs, lifts, running miles/times, yadda yadda yadda. And I’m glad I’m OCD about it because on days like today, I can go back and see how much I’ve improved. Here are the numbers, then and now.

Summer 2010 / May 2011

  • Backsquat: 55# / 138#
  • Deadlift: 115# / 182#
  • Shoulder Press: 40# / 65#
  • Power Clean: 45# / 94#

I’ve also accomplished the following feats:

  • Using the 35# kettlebell
  • Stringing together a decent number of double unders (24 was a PR)
  • Using the big girl box for box jumps (24″)
  • Regular push ups
That being said, I have the following goals I want to accomplish:
  • My first strict pull-up
  • 200#+ deadlift
  • 100# cleans
  • Learn to love wallballs (God, I hate them)
  • Not being afraid of weight overhead so I can finally do squat snatches
  • Learn to row more efficiently
I’ve accomplished a lot but no way am I done – I’ll never be “done”. I’ve got lots to work on and will always have something to work on. Harder, better, faster, stronger (cue Daft Punk).

One thought on “One Year of CrossFit

  1. Pingback: A new experiment « Food, Fitness, & Fotografía

Leave a Reply

