I’m back!

Hi everyone! Guatemala was amazing. It was exactly what I needed at this point in my life. The total count of places we visited was ELEVEN. My godparents (who were hosting us) told us that we visited more places in 17 days than they had in their entire lives.

Traveling to a third-world country has its ups and downs. One huge advantage was that the trip did not empty out my wallet. But seeing how most of the population lives is incredibly eye-opening. The phrase “Live simply so that others may simply live” resonated in my head the entire time. In my first step of living simply, we decided to overhaul our apartment by eliminating most of the clutter and keeping only what we really need. The rest goes to charity.

One of the things I feel incredibly privileged about is the quality of the food I eat. In Guatemala, we were constantly fed empty, non-nutritious food – tortillas, rice, and other derivatives of corn (corn is the biggest crop in Guatemala). We may have overindulged at some points but it really made me realize that I have the opportunity to live well and I should take advantage of that. That being said, I’m going to do the Whole30 (starting next week) and I’m going to need you guys to hold me accountable.

Also, I missed CrossFit. We were fairly active on the trip (hiking Volcano Pacaya, mountain-biking around Lake Atitlan, hiking around Tikal, hiking and swimming around Semuc Champey, and walking wherever we could) but  sometimes I just wanted to lift heavy shit.

In order to present my pictures in an organized manner, I’m not going to do day-by-day posts but rather, group pictures together by location and time. Bear with me as I go through editing/processing 1000+ photos!

Besos,

Jenni

Leave a Reply

