Day 116 – See you soon!

This will probably be my last post for a while. Tomorrow Chris and I fly out of Dulles for Guatemala at 6AM. As you can tell, we won’t be sleeping much tonight. I’ll try to update whenever I can but I won’t have my laptop with me so no pictures (although you can rest assured that I’ll be taking plenty of them).

I’m feeling nervous/excited/anxious/nauseous about tomorrow. Guatemala is my blood yet I feel completely disconnected. I’m going to be visiting relatives I haven’t seen in close to two decades; it’s rather unnerving. In terms of being prepared, I don’t think I can do much more – I’ve been preparing for days now.

I had a really strange experience the other night: I awoke in the middle of the night realizing that I had just been dreaming and thinking in Spanish, something that hasn’t happened in a very long time. Although it’s my first language, I’m exponentially more proficient in English and feel bad that I’ve neglected my native tongue. To dream and think in a certain language is generally a marker of one’s fluency. It was a bizarre comfort to dream in Spanish, as if this trip will only reestablish the connection to my roots.

The picture below was taken in Guatemala in 1993, on the day that we got our visas approved. And now, after 18 years, I’m heading back. Saludos!

One thought on “Day 116 – See you soon!

Leave a Reply

