Day 109

Birthday boy! Chris turned 24 on Tuesday – I’m officially dating an older man. For his birthday dinner we went to Brookville Restaurant. Honestly, I cannot say enough good things about this restaurant. We had a relatively late dinner so we were the only ones in the restaurant but I liked it that way. Without us asking for it, they brought us some delicious champagne to celebrate Chris’ birthday. They also had their Taste of VA menu which was spectacular. I’m not going to go into detail about the entire meal but I do have to mention their appetizer course – Crispy egg with spinach and lardon. This plate alone inspired me to look into culinary school because it was simply amazing. The egg was poached and then fried – I mean, c’mon! That’s genius! And then! The spinach was perfectly cooked, creamy and mixed with lardon, which is a fatter, thicker bacon. Seriously, anyone in Charlottesville – go check them out, you will not be disappointed. I regret not taking my camera and photographing the meal but I was too busy eating a lot of good food.

Leave a Reply

