Day 38

Our gym is starting a new strength cycle this week, which I’m pretty excited about. When I first started CrossFit, my biggest fear was that I would become bulky and masculine. That’s not what happened but I did gain about 15 pounds. Of course, it was all muscle but it still shook me up a bit considering I’m only 5’2″ – 15 pounds is a lot on a small frame. It took me a while to accept that the weight gained was an improvement to my body. Before CrossFit, I was running 4-5 times a week and while I was getting skinnier, I was also getting weaker. Nowadays, I can backsquat my own body weight (which I hope to surpass with this new cycle) and deadlift much more than that (another PR I hope to break). I still deal with the regular “Oh, I wish I were skinnier” moments but then I take a look a girls who are skinny and realize that I’m stronger and healthier and that’s all that matters.

2 thoughts on “Day 38

  1. I always say, “Skinny chics can meet me at the squat rack!” Ha! I know where you’re coming from, though. At 5’0″ I’m not very tall so muscle tends to look big on my frame. Someone asked me the other day if I was “naturally this bulky.” Wait – what? It’s a beautiful thing to have a body capable of accomplishing great physical feats! Nice pic of the rings, BTW – nice DoF.

Leave a Reply

